Amazing Spiderman 2

Let me start by saying that I disliked the first Amazing Spiderman.

The sequel I didn’t dislike.

I HATED IT!!

As a life long Spidey fan (seriously four decades and counting) I can’t condemn this car crash of a movie enough. It’s a mess of epic proportions with no redeeming qualities of any kind.

Script. Terrible.

Acting. Worse.

Direction. Not sure there was any.

Special effects. On a par with Batman and Robin. Almost.

Music. Hideous.

Action. So fast and incoherent as to be unwatchable.

I don’t just want Sony to not make huge amounts of money off of this disaster, I want them to lose money. In fact I want them to lose so much money that they never make another Spiderman film again or indeed any film. I want everyone whose name appears in the credits to feel so ashamed of themselves that they voluntarily retire and never work in movies ever again. All of them. Ever.

Here is a film that is almost 2 and a half hours long and yet still feels rushed. There are too many ideas here, too many story strands, too many characters and we don’t spend enough time with any of them. Is it about Electro or the Green Goblin or Peters parents or Rhino? Just pick one and make that film. Sam Raimi already demonstrated what happens when you put too many eggs in one basket. You get Spiderman 3. Are you not paying attention Sony or do you have your eyes so firmly focused on the next film (or even next 2) that you forgot to actually make this one stand on its own.

Appalling in every sense of the word. As a frustrated film maker myself I’ve always believed that you can learn more from a bad movie than you can a good one. It’s easier to see the flaws than it is to see what works. Well congratulations Marc Webb you’ve made something so bad that it will be dissected and pulled apart by film students for years to come and hopefully the next generation will learn from these horrors and future crimes can be avoided.

1 out of 10

Leave a comment